Recorded At The Oregon Country Fair (May 18, 2021)


 “Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters laid down one of the best sets of this year’s festival with tight, professional rollicking Americana that defies geography. From the soul of the City to the call of the Holler you won’t find a better band.” – Brian Keogh, Mainstage Coordinator, Oregon Country Fair


PORTLAND, OR – MAY 2021 – A pandemic can’t stop Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters from sharing the magic of the Oregon Country Fair in the band’s second full-length release, Live from The Blue Moon. As originally broadcast from the annual mid-summer art and music festival in July 2019, the record captures a set for the ages with the six-piece lineup leaving it all on the stage. 


Eight of the twelve tracks breathe live, improvisational energy into already high-octane numbers from the band’s inaugural 2018 studio release, described by Fervor Coulee as “an amazingly creative and original juxtaposition of rock, country, vigor, and sass.” Two others dig further back into front-woman Flynn’s solo discography, reimagining those songs in an electrified context. Rounding out the dozen are two covers, including an exuberant, set-closing rendition of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers’ “American Girl” that left two KRVM radio hosts momentarily speechless, then laughingly wondering what in the world had just transpired over the course of the previous 45 minutes. 


Attending the Oregon Country Fair has become a tradition of Flynn’s for over a decade, and she hopes this release will spread some joy in the absence of spring and summer festivals for the second year in a row. 


The band remains optimistic about the future of live music, with plans to perform at High Sierra Music Festival in Quincy, CA, July1-4 and The Sawtooth Valley Gathering in Stanley, ID August 5-8. Portlanders can also catch Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters, along with a rotating cast of special guests, every third Thursday at the Riveters Roadhouse hosted by Alberta Street Pub.


Live from the Blue Moon Track Listing | Listen on Soundcloud


  1. How the West Was Won
  2. Fly Away
  3. Too Close to the Sun
  4. The Sound of Bells
  5. Cold Black Line
  6. Deep River Hollow
  7. You Will Remember
  8. Big Hat, No Cattle
  9. Tiger by the Tail
  10. Shrouded Sun
  11. This Love
  12. American Girl


Flynn’s five female bandmates on The Blue Moon Stage include LA-based electric guitarist Nancy Luca who honed her style and skill playing with Tom Petty and Bo Diddley, Jenny Conlee of the Decemberists on accordion, and highly-regarded Portland musicians Carmen Paradise on bass, Jolie Clausen on drums and Samantha “Mama Sam” Montanaro on backing vocals.


More about Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters


With what PopMatters describes as "tenacious swagger," critically-acclaimed solo artist Ashleigh Flynn dialed up the volume in 2018, debuting an all-female rock band as a nod to the Rosie the Riveter archetype from WWII. Flynn grew up in Kentucky and cut her teeth on local bluegrass music and Motown. A prolific songwriter and performer blessed with unbridled charisma, she arrived on the Americana scene in 2008 with the release of her third LP, American Dream, a poetic lament to the elusiveness of that national ethos. A Million Stars followed in 2013 – a rollicking journey celebrating the women pioneers of the American West.


Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters’ inaugural LP features a sound that hearkens back to early Stones, ‘70s psychedelic country rock, and alternately charms like a Sunday afternoon front porch session. Produced by Chris Funk of the Decemberists, the 10 original tracks showcase Flynn’s trademark soulful vocals and compelling brand of songwriting, amped-up and virtuously enveloped by a talented cast of female musicians – most of whom reprise their roles on Live from The Blue Moon. Since self-releasing in 2018 on Flynn’s label, Home Perm Records, the band began barnstorming the coastal and mountain west, steadily building their audience and crafting their live sound along the way. The following festival season saw the girls road-tested, joyously ripping and rounding out the summer of 2019 swinging for the fences. 


Despite live shows all but disappearing with the onset of Covid, 2020 was not a lost year. Music videos for the two singles off the Riveters’ debut made the rounds of the film festival circuit, garnering 20 selections and 7 honors. Flynn’s rocking protest anthem This Love moved audiences in Austin, Portland and Richmond, VA while radio-ready Too Close to the Sun’s animated send-up of the exploits of Lawn Chair Larry enjoyed live screenings in Los Angeles, San Francisco, New York City, Portland, Austin and Boulder City, Nevada. The band received three Independent Music Awards nominations, remotely recorded and released a pandemic-inspired digital 45, advanced to the final five in Sixthman Soundcheck’s Melissa Etheridge Cruise competition and broadcast a handful of livestreams from Northeast Portland throughout the year – rocking driveways, balconies and bona-fide stages alike.


The Riveters are poised to continue honing their craft as a band of highly adept song assemblers who put on one hell of a show – holding up the reality that chicks shred just as hard as dudes. The band has begun work on a sophomore studio effort and will take their unique brand of Americana back out on the road as 2021 permits.


Ashleigh Flynn & The Riveters - Official Website

Listen on Spotify




Media enquiries: Kim Grant,